Surprise, you’re popular! (OMG)

I read an article once about how Susan Boyle, after winning “Britain’s Got Talent”, had to check herself into a hospital to recuperate from the stress of dealing with her sudden popularity. I remember wondering what was so hard about that – after all it was just singing, what’s the big deal? I gotta say though, the last couple months have been a whirlwind around the Fawkes household and, while I’m nowhere near her fame, I kind of understand where she was coming from.

In June, I watched AHW1 rise through the Amazon Top 100 in the Kindle store, and its sequels follow onto that list. Currently AHW1 is in the teens, with the sequels bouncing around the #70s. For a relative unknown (that’s me) to get on the list not just once (miracle enough) but THREE TIMES…wow. I think Hugh Howey did it with his scifi Wool series but, seriously, it almost NEVER happens, even to the big name guys!

And you guys! YOU GUYS ARE AWESOME!!! I can’t believe how many of you are tweeting, commenting and Facebooking (is that even a word? Lol) and I just want to love on you all. But holy crap is it overwhelming!!! I always said that, if I became “popular”, I’d always reply to every comment I received but WOW, that’s no easy task!!! I’m your typical average Jane (motorcycle fetish aside😀 ), used to Facebooking and tweeting only with RL friends and family, so the sudden rush of folks is seriously like whoa!!

One thing I have to say though: THANK YOU!!!!! It’s been ALL of you that’s helped me accomplish this, this miracle, and from the bottom of my heart I’m so thankful. I’m trying to whittle away at the emails and tweets and comments – I want to reply to everyone! – but please be patient with me!!! I spent much of this week with a gimpy knee, nevertheless trying to keep up with a toddling nephew I rarely see, and finding time to write. It’s a balance I’m still trying to work out, plus I’d hate to disappoint you guys with bad product. I’m no Susan Boyle (hah, you do NOT want to hear me singing in the shower!) but I want to do my best for you guys while still maintaining some sanity and a social life.

Man…you all are an incredible lot. Thank you for your support and I hope I can keep entertaining you for a long time to come.😉

One thought on “Surprise, you’re popular! (OMG)

Leave a Reply

