DearAuthor mentioned me in an article

Many moons ago, before I was actually a published author, I was an aspiring writer. Back in those days, I poured over blogs and websites about the publishing world, read articles on how to write/plot/etc, and had a few go-to favorite sites for news on What Was Happening In Publishing. Dear Author was one blog/website that, while I didn’t always agree with their stance on some issues, I regarded as a good industry source.

Yesterday they did an article on serial fiction and, holy crap, they mentioned me!! Those of you who follow me on Twitter probably saw my squeefest (it was pretty epic), and a day later I’m still absolutely tickled. Their mention wasn’t really a shout-out or recommendation but, well, it was no less awesome:

One author who is burning up the charts is self published author Sara Fawkes whose series “Anything He Wants” sells on Amazon for .99, $2.99, and $2.99 for the published versions so far for a total of 111 pages of fiction. Serials can build anticipation and lead to increased word of mouth.

😀 I’m still grinning about it.

11 thoughts on “DearAuthor mentioned me in an article

  1. Hi could you email when the 4th series is coming out of anything wants its annoying just getting into it now need find out what happens quick lol

  2. Hi Sara, I love the AHW series, and have started reading your blog and twitter. You must get asked this a lot, and I hope you won’t mind me asking, but here goes – what should I, as a wannabe writer, do to replicate the kind of success you’re seeing?
    I know, great writing probably comes first, and I’m trying (though not very confident!)… do you have any other tips that you’ve learnt from experience?

    • Wow, I wish I could say how this all happen or had some deep insights on the subject. I never thought the series would take off the way it did, it’s been absolutely incredible!! Hmm, advice I’d give a writer: make the best quality story you can, be unafraid to put it up, keep in touch with your fan base, and NEVER STOP WRITING!! If your first story isn’t a “hit”, your 23rd may do the trick.😉 And try not to get discouraged with yourself – being published at all, or even FINISHING a story for publication, is such an accomplishment!!

      Good luck!!!😀

      • Thanks Sara! I really appreciate your response and encouragement😀

        I’m very unsure of my writing abilities so I’m starting off with some micro-shorts to find my feet (and voice!) and I’ve written 3.5 drafts so far… I think I’m almost ready to move on to longer shorts😉 (Of course, I have to publish my short-shorts first!)

  3. I just happened on these books, looking for stuff for my Kindle and LOVE them!! Can’t wait for # 4, cause I want to see what happens to Lucy. Keep up the great work😀

Leave a Reply

