Beat 'em til their bloody

I love to read. That probably doesn’t come as much of a surprise to most folks as they assume all writers like reading, but books have always been an important part of my life. Christmas and birthday gifts were almost always books I wanted or gift cards to bookstores, which were always used immediately to restock my TBR pile. My favorite place (and my parents’ – free books for a voracious reader!) was the library, both public and at school. I read any and everything I could get my hands on; my nose was constantly in a book. Adulthood has lessened that to a large extent, sadly enough, but I do have brief bouts of manic reading.

What does this have to do with my subject line? Well, I learned early on that I most enjoyed reading about suffering characters. The more dire the situation, the more I relished the read. Cliffhangers were awesome, provided the next book was immediately available, but I’d eagerly await the next part to see how it all turned out. I didn’t like stories with unhappy endings (still refuse to read or warch “The Road”) but I enjoyed watching characters grow even as they suffered.

Where am I going with this? Well, for the last week I’ve been on a reading frenzy (and yes, my writing has suffered to my dismay) of a scifi YA “Molly Fyde” series by Hugh Howey. It has everything a girl could want: action, adventure, kick-ass heroine, angst, love, betrayal, genocide, politicking…

*looks back at that list* Okay, so this girl doesn’t want everything on that list, but it makes a compelling read. I love smart series like this, the kind that give characters impossible situations and, when they choose, they have to live with the ramifications of their actions. When they make a mistake and it comes back to haunt them. Reading books like this make me realize how much I as a writer still have to learn – its HARD to beat up your characters, even if it’s for their own good or the good of the story.

But boy, does it make for one heck of a ride.

6 thoughts on “Beat 'em til their bloody

  1. I completely agree Sara! … Characters are almost like children..but it’s SOOOO awesome when they prevail and push hard and overcome. Reading about such things makes life a little easier to handle also I think. You get the idea that here someone has dreamed up these characters and they are facing such adversity and yet..the window lets in a sliver of light and you see the hope. Then the character comes through in the end a little scarred but tougher and with more substance than they entered with. It can be riviting, nail biting, lip biting, and stomach wrenching….but I always keep reading. ..Oh man….ok….here it comes….”Hello, my name is Rue and I’m addicted to reading.”

  2. …their bloody what? Hugh is taking up at least 4 of my TBR slots. I devoured the WOOL omnibus, followed quickly by First Shift, took a leisurely stroll through space with the Molly Fyde series and am now being slowly masticated by I, Zombie (hope is futile in this one). The rest are lined up and waiting for consumption.

  3. I have enjoyed AHW5…and also 50 shades. I don’t want promote another author but will…. Indigo Bloome is an Australian author and Has part 1 avail of her new series Destined to Play. Might be a good filler whilst waiting for the nest installment of AHW

  4. You really are a wonderful writer. Your books are quite good but your blog posts are well written, witty and show a love of the written word.

  5. Love the Blog, abosolutely the Books and stories, and most definitely everything else about you Ms. Fawkes. Just over the last 2-3 months have I begun to read your books and many others of similar genre, and now I cannot stop! Realistically, I don’t think I could or would even want to stop. It has recently come to my attention that I have started to compare my other readings with your writing and missives because in this arena of literature I find that you are one the truely talented and gifted. I am truely a fan and cannot wait for the AHW # 6 to arrive so that I can sit back start at #1 and read all the way through! Cheers!😉

Leave a Reply

