Slow and steady

This last week hasn’t been too stellar on the writing front. For one, my days have been taken up by this jury selection process, which is ruining my schedule (and, if I’m chosen, will REALLY ruin it). On another note, however, we’ve been looking for a new home, and yesterday made our first (ever!) offer on a local property. Keeping our fingers crossed!!!

It’s no secret that I am a pantser not a plotter when it comes to my stories, but I do understand how a novel should be divided up. I’m reaching that dreaded middle section with AHW2 where subplots, new characters and drama steer the story, and I’m suddenly finding myself having to plan ahead. This is a Very Good Thing – it helps to keep me on track as I write – but the middle of a book is where an author can so easily go off track. Internal pressure to get it “right”, guilt that I’ve added only a handful of words over the weekend, and the external pressures of potential jury duty and home buying are making me a bit anxious.

Or maybe that’s just because I haven’t had breakfast this morning.😉

The lawn guys are right outside my window as I lay in bed, reminding me why I’m looking forward to moving. I’m not in a “bad” area by any means but I’m looking forward to a mortgage instead of rent, for the money I put into a house to be an investment and not paying for someone else’s Caribbean vacation. To each their own indeed, but we’re pretty excited for what the future holds.

Last night, I mapped out the next section of story, introducing key (new) characters and subplots, so at least that pressure has receded a bit. Lots to do, and I’d hate to miss out on a Snippet Saturday because life didn’t let me write anything.😀 Hope all is well on your end!!

5 thoughts on “Slow and steady

  1. Leave the guilt for fancy frames and tacky dance-wear. If you made SOME progress – then you progressed.

    The race doesn’t go to the fellow who runs off as fast as he can with eyes closed tight. The race goes to the fellow who gets there – WHEN he gets there.

    (ps: that works for females as well – I just tend to philosophize in my own gender)

    Write a little and you’ve wrote a lot.

  2. In my office, there are a group of us who are always talking about books. I was telling one of them about Anything He Wants. She was picking at me because I was getting so excited talking about Jeremiah. I really love his character. Thanks for this great story.

Leave a Reply

