Snippet Saturday … finally!

Rumors of my demise have been greatly exaggerated!😀

I apologize for no snippet last weekend, it was a tough weekend in that I had no new material that was, well, all that interesting. But this week has been much better in the writing department, and I figured I’d (finally!) share a little bit from Castaway 3. Hope you enjoy it! (Facebookers, you’ve probably already read this bit.)

Excerpt:

He swallowed. “We’re quite a pair, aren’t we?” he murmured, pushing back the hair that was plastered to my face.

Lifting my shoulder slightly off the ground, I finally levered my hand up to touch his face. “You’ll never be able to forgive me.” My eyes closed as my hand fell back to my chest. “I’ll never be able to forgive me.”

“No.” But I saw the truth in his eyes. My actions lay like an abyss between us, and I doubted either of us would ever be able, or willing to bridge it.

Foreign chatter surrounded me, and Jeremiah’s grip on my body tightened. I looked up to see his gaze darting at several points, but I didn’t take my eyes off him. “You deserve better,” I murmured, and saw his stricken gaze fall back to me.

My strength had returned enough to push away from him, but I couldn’t make myself do it. In his arms, I was safe for the first time in what felt like forever. My brain told me I needed to let go, leave and get on with my life, but my heart wasn’t ready.

I doubted it would ever be.

Leave a Reply

