Kindle Worlds and fanfiction

wool-uk-cover-finalThis morning while browsing the internet, I read Hugh Howey’s latest blog post “When Words Become Worlds“. He talked about how he’s now put his “Wool” universe up on Amazon’s Kindle World wherein readers and fans can now actually write and publish what is, essentially, “Wool” fanfiction.

That. Is. COOL!

I make it no secret that I once upon a time wrote fanfiction; it was how I cut my writing teeth, to be honest. I learned how to create a story and interesting characters by essentially playing in other creator’s backyards. It’s a time honored tradition; fanzines have been around for decades as readers try to emulate or continue the adventures of beloved characters. Some authors and publishers do see it as an infringement on their copyright (Anne Rice and Laurel K Hamilton come to mind) and some would argue that it could lead to problems in the future should canon and fanon collide.

When Kindle Worlds first came out, I was skeptical that it would work. In a way, I still am. In my mind, there’s a fine line between canon and fanon, but people differ on what they consider each. For example, as a kid I poured over the Star Trek: The Next Generation novels, looking for any morsel of my favorite characters. Internet and Fanfiction.net introduced me to more writers and fanfics, many of which were (IMO) just as good if not better than the source material. Indeed, some fanon ideas become practically canon in some circles (how on earth did Severus Snape become a sex symbol?!), so there’s a lot of crossover.

But who decides what is fanon and what is canon?

Publishers would tell you it’s them and what they decide to print/license, but many voracious readers prefer what fandom creates. Cassandra Clare of “The Mortal Instruments” fame started out writing Harry Potter fan fiction (which I *LOVED* btw) and managed to leverage her readership over to her novels. Same with EL James (“Fifty Shades”), and Sylvain Reynard (“Gabriel’s Inferno” series), both of whose bestselling series started out as Twilight fanfiction.

…meh, I’m screwing this up. Hugh Howey says it much more eloquently than me, but I’m interested in seeing where this all goes!

*~*~*

On a more personal note, I’ve had a lot of people asking me when I’ll be posting another snippet for Snippet Saturday. Well, this week is the first time in what feels like forever that I’m actually writing new material; it was also the first time I could enter my office without inciting something akin to a panic attack.

For the life of me, I don’t know why I felt like this the last two months, but I’m am SO GLAD that it’s over!!!

I have a lot of lost time to make up for, but promise that the snippets will resume. The hard part is not giving away too much information about the plot, etc; sometimes I wonder if I give you folks too much!! But then, nah, you deserve it for being as awesome as you are.😀

I’m about a week away from announcing a release date for part 3 of Castaway. Once this part’s done, then it’ll be edits, cover art decisions, and *GASP!* actually releasing it!!

What are you saying? Why am I writing a silly blog post when I should be writing more AHW?! Okay, I’m a’gettin, I’m a’gettin!!!😉

7 thoughts on “Kindle Worlds and fanfiction

  1. Thank God🙂 I am waiting lol. I know it will be great. I need my wait what was their names? lol Hamilton guys and now the brother. Omg getting good.

  2. Please done worry about ‘snippets’! That;s of no importance… it will ruin the full reading… just please finish castaway 3 so i can get back into the book😦 … because it will probably only take me half hour at the most to read what you’ve written and I’ll be nagging for castaway 4! But good to hear you’re doing well!

  3. Oh my gosh, I can’t wait, bring on those Hamilton’s more importantly bring on the love story of Jeremiah and Lucy, so ready for there happily ever after.
    so glad you are doing well, get those words to flying.

Leave a Reply

